Ideas for Acumatica

Feedback processing: We do not reply to all messages, but we do read them, analyze them, and work to improve Acumatica based on the feedback we receive. Ideas and comments may not appear immediately. Some legitimate ideas are flagged as spam and will be added when we review the spam folders.
Content: This portal is for product ideas and feedback only. If you need customer service assistance, contact your Acumatica Support Partner, submit a support case, or get assistance from community resources: LinkedIn Group or StackOverflow
No Reliance: Information is maintained on a best-efforts basis and may be changed without notice. Acumatica cannot guarantee the accuracy of the information provided or guarantee completion of features/ideas described on this portal.

Ability to set access rights for attached files

When you attach a file to an entity it would be very useful to set access rigths to that file, so that only authorized people can download or open it (especially when you assign documents like contracts).

 

Currently, in File Maintenance (SM202510), you cannot change access rights for specific Roles, although  `Access Rights` tab is present in this screen (see the image attached)

  • Mihai Carstea
  • Dec 9 2019
  • Future consideration
  • Attach files
  • Rick Hartman commented
    05 May 16:47

    To further clarify Mihai's original suggestion, it would be helpful if only the user who originally attached the file could delete it.

  • Jeffrey Patch commented
    27 Mar 06:35

    Sounds like a reasonable idea. So I tested out changing the primary screen to one which particular users do not have access. I changed access to that particular screen to Revoked.

    No success. For the affected users, they could still access the file - only the Access tab was removed was removed from the File Maintenance screen.

  • Douglas Johnson commented
    December 11, 2019 15:22

    Thanks for the suggestion.

    Note: files automatically take the rights associated with the screen the file was attached to. In the File Maintenance screen you can change the Primary Screen to change the access rights.